So maybe it sends a horrible message to the children, but whatever, I really love that Bumble

Last night in an attempt to get the girls to SETTLE DOWN ALREADY JEEZ after they had their dinner so we could eat OUR dinner, I put on Rudolph. You’ve all seen Rudolph. You don’t need me to tell you what happens in Rudolph, but what I should tell you is that Roo asked me what my favorite part was and I answered her. But then I had to change my answer, and I had to change it AGAIN after that, and I realized I love this movie so damn much it doesn’t even make sense.

I mean, it’s AWFUL, this story. Rudolph’s father is unarguably the worst ungulate father ever to set foot on claymation earth. Santa is portrayed as a HORRIFYING snoutist with a murderous streak (OH YES) and an eating disorder. Poor Hermey is laughed at for wanting to be a dentist by a bunch of cavity-ridden elves in matching clothing. (We know the four elf food groups! No chance those clowns have decent chompers.) Then the abominable snow monster has them all ready to eat, and Hermey YANKS OUT ALL OF HIS TEETH. How does he even DO that? He doesn’t even have his LICENSE TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY YET.

But all of it, every last bit of it, is excusable in the face of Yukon Cornelius, THE GREATEST PROSPECTOR IN THE NORTH. I … well, I find myself proclaiming MYself the greatest prospector in the north fairly often. Whatever, Florida is north of some stuff. I could be a prospector. You don’t know me.

I told Roo the Bumble was my favorite part. I mean, Bumbles BOUNCE. That’s pretty impressive. He goes over a huge cliff, and then just BOUNCES. But also my favorite part is where they are all holed up in the cottage and turn off the lights to go to sleep and the second the lights are out THEY ALL JUST FALL ASLEEP INSTANTLY. It’s grand comedy!

BUT THEN I am completely forgetting the Island of Misfit Toys! That doll, there is nothing wrong with her. NOTHING. I have wanted one for my entire life, so much do I love that doll. And the spotted elephant, too. And the Charlie in the Box. HIS VOICE. His is the voice I use for any of my children’s stuffed animals I decide need an OBNOXIOUS personality. Let’s be honest, though. Some of those toys actually do suck. They DESERVE to be on that island. They probably all signed up to be there, even. Sent in audition videos and compete in challenges and I bet the squirt gun that shoots jelly wins EVERY single time because, seriously. How are you going to beat that, boat that can’t stay afloat? HOW?

Honestly, though, my favorite part. My absolute FAVORITE thing to come out of that movie. When Rudolph’s father shouts

HIS BEAK BLINKS LIKE A BLINKIN’ BEACON!

You guys. YOU GUYS. It’s brilliance. Read it back over. Take it in slowly. Yell it at the top of your voice.

So, yeah. Rudolph’s family shuns him and makes him wear a fake nose. He is only accepted back into the community when he SERVES A PURPOSE.

Santa manages to go from emaciated to fat in under 10 minutes (as do we ALL during the holidays, except for the starting out emaciated part.) The Misfit Toys get all emo around the campfire and assume Santa has forgotten them again.

But he picks them up! Happy ending!

OR IS IT?

Because then he delivers them via PARACHUTE. MISFIT TOYS! He is not giving you to children! He is HURLING YOU TO YOUR DEATHS. Everyone knows Santa goes down chimneys. He doesn’t just throw crap examples of shoddy workelfship out of the sleigh with toy parachutes on their backs!

See? MURDEROUS STREAK.

8 Comments

Filed under My girls, Photo essay

8 responses to “So maybe it sends a horrible message to the children, but whatever, I really love that Bumble

  1. shriekhouse

    OMG my hat is off to your utter brilliance. The only thing I manage to say about this movie every year is “What the FUCK? What? Really? WHAT NOW???”

    Next up can you please take on Mayor Bergermeister?

  2. And NOW I’m in the Christmas spirit. You make me laugh 🙂

  3. Diane. DIANE. He gives *almost* all of them a parachute. Not the bird, though. You know? THE BIRD THAT CAN’T FLY? Watch at the end. He starts to give the bird a parachute, and then pauses, and you can see him thinking, “I don’t have to give a *bird* a parachute! Birds can fly!” and then drops it.

    But that bird can’t fly, Santa! See ya, bird.

  4. My favorite part of this post is this: “Santa is portrayed as a HORRIFYING snoutist with a murderous streak (OH YES) and an eating disorder.”

    No, my REAL favorite part is this: “How does he even DO that? He doesn’t even have his LICENSE TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY YET. ”

    Wait, no, my favorite part is THIS: How are you going to beat that, boat that can’t stay afloat? HOW?”

    Except for this part, which is totally my favorite: “as do we ALL during the holidays, except for the starting out emaciated part. ”

    “Shoddy workelfship ” Oh man. THAT is my favorite.

    No no no. This. This is my favorite: “I find myself proclaiming MYself the greatest prospector in the north fairly often. Whatever, Florida is north of some stuff. I could be a prospector. You don’t know me.”

    This whole post. FAVORITE.

  5. Greatest post I’ve ever read.

    I have a doll of that doll! ha! doll of that doll! there’s nothing frickin’ wrong with her.

  6. I … really need to watch this movie again.

  7. I didn’t watch this movie until last year, and it was SO GOOD. But I did keep yelling to Gregg, “There is nothing wrong with that doll! Why is she there???”

  8. I read this the day that you posted it, but I keep refusing to mark it as read in my feed reader. I keep coming across it again, and I enjoy it Every Time. I’m going to print it out and bring it with me to Christmas in Wisconsin to show my (non-tech-friendly) family.