It’s a …

So. Last week, I had a dream that this baby was a boy. Before we decided to have a third child, we agreed that we would ONLY do so because we felt our family was incomplete — it couldn’t be a longing for a boy. Through all 17 weeks of this pregnancy so far, most people have commented, “Trying for your boy?” and “Maybe you’ll finally get your boy!” (mostly to my husband, haha, dads get annoying comments too! Yay!) And I know people are well-meaning, honestly, but I always answered that, since having my first daughter, I would be happy with an entire houseful of girls. (In fact, when I was pregnant with Roo, I hoped for another girl so Vio would get the sister I always wanted but never got to have.)

Anyway, so I thought I was FINE with a girl, and then I had that dream where the tech said, “It’s a boy!” and then I wept and was all, “Really? I’m having a boy?” When I woke up, well. That was an oh crap moment, you know? Because what if I found out it was a girl and I wasn’t as okay as I thought I would be?

So, today was the day. I’ve had the searing throat pain of doom for almost three full days, which has mostly distracted me (but also reminded me that whenever I get excited about something, I GET SICK THE DAY BEFORE COUGHCOUGHTHEBLATHERINGCOUGHCOUGH.)

I’m sorry, I’m not dragging this out to be a bother or because I LOVE suspense, but just because I wanted you to know the mindset I was in when I went in that room and got goo on my belly and started staring wide-eyed at the screen. (Remember: we didn’t find out the sex with the girls, so this was my first time finding out in advance.)

She puts the wand down on my belly, and just like what happened with Roo, the second she stuck the wand on, it was a crotch shot. I wasn’t SURE what I saw, but I suspected. When I saw Roo, I thought for sure it was a girl, and told Matt as much later. The tech took a few shots of some other things, and then she goes, “oh, wow! That’s probably different than what you’re used to seeing, huh?”

And I did the little BLINKBLINKBLINK cartoon thing. Completely holding my breath. Because, obviously, I knew what she meant, but she didn’t actually SAY it, and I didn’t want to BELIEVE it until she said it.

Just like in the dream, she said it was a boy, and I said, “REALLY? It’s a boy?” and I WEPT.

You guys, I am having a boy. I don’t even know what that means, but wow, I am so excited.

27 Comments

Filed under Gestation

27 responses to “It’s a …

  1. Congratulations! Boys are awesome. You are going to love it.

  2. Jen

    GAH! YAY!!! Congrats πŸ™‚

  3. Awe, Congrats!!!!!! It’s a penis. πŸ™‚

    So happy for you and your family. Very cool. Welcome to the other side!

  4. Hoorayyyyy! Oh what wonderful news! Life with little boys is so fun. Congratulations to all of you!

  5. THERE AREN’T LETTERS BIG ENOUGH TO CONVEY MY EXCITEMENT! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

  6. Woo hoo! When you don’t dare hope for something, and then you get it anyway, it’s the best feeling in the world. Congratulations.

  7. Jeff

    Congratulations, and a hearty Mazel Tov! I hope that everything is well health wise (i.e. 10 fingers/10 toes type stuff) and glad that everything is going well with the pregnancy.

  8. OH!!!! Congratulations!!!! What an awesome moment that must have been. I am so happy for you!!

  9. EXCITING!! Congratulations!

  10. Oh yay! I’m so happy & excited for you! Boys are great.

  11. Congrats! And it means good, good things, trust me πŸ™‚

  12. I feel like Emily! I’m all yelly with excitement! YAY! πŸ˜€

  13. YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY! I will mail you decent ice cream in CELEBRATION. YAAAAY! CONGRATULATIONS!

  14. yay for boys! and babies in general.

  15. Pingback: Tweets that mention It’s a … | dashoff -- Topsy.com

  16. Congratulations! Little boys are amazing! And no more naming girls!!

  17. Mommygeek

    Yahoooo! I can’t wait to hear all about his escapades!

  18. That is just so stinking EXCITING! I am so thrilled for you guys and it will be so fun for the girls to have a little brother and he will have big sisters and…it will be great. Just so totally GREAT!

  19. TJ

    I am SO EXCITED FOR YOU!

  20. Congratulations! He’s literally a dream come true!

  21. A BOY! A BOY!

    Oh, D. I’m so excited for you. What a WONDERFUL surprise and what a great addition to your family.

    Awww. AWWW.

  22. Hooray!!!!!!!!!!! I am so happy for you! A boy! A baby BROTHER! Hooray!

  23. Congrats! How exciting! I’m sure those girls will love spoiling a little brother.

  24. YAY!!!! Boys are so much fun.

  25. I’m late to the boy party, but CONGRATS! Can’t wait for the big sisters bossing baby brother around stories!

  26. Andrew

    Arrived at your blog by mistake. What a nice story and pleasant surprise!