7 Quick Takes – Summer is here!

1. How are we already halfway through June? In the next two and a half weeks, we’ve got Father’s Day, my blog turns 1, my marriage turns 7 (anyone else feeling itchy?), I turn 29 (for the FIRST time, thank you very much), and the US turns, like, a million or whatever. Mostly I’m interested in the fireworks and perhaps a cake in the shape of a flag. I’m a little bit tired just thinking about it.

2. Then August comes, and August is just a parade of birthdays. Vio shares hers with two other relatives, and it’s the same week as Matt’s and about two weeks before my mom’s. We like to call it Cake Week. Also, apparently by Matt’s birthday, I’ll be able to run 30 minutes without stopping. If you’ll please excuse me, I will spend the next 30 minutes laughing without stopping. Which is probably just as good, you know?

3. But then! The worst thing happens! In that my baby, my Vio, who will be 4, will be starting pre-K. I don’t have any idea who authorized this. I have a whole post written in my head about how this is Making Me Feel (which is mostly: Old, and also: Sad) so look for that some time around … well, I hit publish on it in my BRAIN like a week ago.

4. Speaking of posts written in my head, I have a whole one about Roo and her talking. Her non-stop always talking that makes me want to freeze time just so I can sit and listen to her. Everyone told us to expect the second to be far less verbal, but so far she is giving her big sister a run for her money. Last week Vio spent a good 15 minutes just asking Roo yes-or-no questions to see what she would say. Conversations! Between my children! I’ve wiggled my nose and clicked my heels and all those other magic things, but so far the time just keeps moving.

5. Vio started swimming lessons this week, which was LONG overdue. I was nervous because parents sit in Another Room, and she hasn’t really done anything without us yet. If she’s not with us, she’s with another adult who would throw himself in front of a bus for her, so she’s not really used to being only a semi-precious snowflake. She did amazingly well, though, which is helping calm my fears about pre-K in the fall.

6. For once in her sweet life, Roo fell and smacked her face the day AFTER a doctor’s appointment instead of the day before. Right into the molding around the bathroom door. So it looks a little bit like she got into a scratch fight with a wombat or maybe got slapped by someone with a doll-sized hand. Then she stepped on a dollhouse table and scraped the bottom of her foot. Sorry, sweetie, but you got your mama’s grace.

7. For a very long time I thought I didn’t like dark chocolate. That was really stupid of me.

More quick takes here.

4 Comments

Filed under My girls, Quick takes

4 responses to “7 Quick Takes – Summer is here!

  1. Lady, the US does NOT turn a million or whatever! The USA is, like, 300 years old, right? I think most of the houses where I live are older than that. 😉

    Also? Dark chocolate = omnomnomnom.

    In addition, what is pre-K? Preschool? Don’t you have… k-12? Did I just make that up?

    • Not a million, eh? I guess my hyperbolizer is out of whack.

      Pre-K is pre-Kindergarten. It’s for three hours in the morning, helps get kids used to the rhythms of school. Good for kids who haven’t been in daycare or any other activities with a lot of peer socialization.

  2. Girl, you have made me laugh, like a MILLION times here. And when you said hyperbolizer in comments, I laughed for the one million and ONEth time. Thanks 🙂

    My second girl is also highly verbal in a nonstop way. I’ll hold your hand and maybe if we click our heels together at the exact same time, while running backwards really fast…time will at least slow down.

    Or we’ll fall. Good times either way.

  3. #7…me too! Why didn’t I realize how perfect dark chocolate was?
    Am choosing to ignore the implications of my choosing to comment only on the chocolate and not any of the other interesting things. Don’t want to know what that says about me.