Because there’s more to life than being really, really, ridiculously good-looking

You know what’s really annoying? I mean, INCREDIBLY annoying. Like when you get a hair hanging down from the back of your sleeve and you’re walking and then the hair brushes up against you so you try to scratch your arm but you can’t EVER FIND IT and you have to go on like that, possibly for HOURS? It’s this level of annoying I’m talking about.

As annoying as someone who just WILL NOT get to the point.

I just want you in the right place to fully appreciate HOW ANNOYED I get in this situation.

Are you ever in the middle of a conversation and you make a reference to a very well-known movie or teevee show, and the other person doesn’t get it?

Like, “Oh my GOSH, that dude is so a Ned Ryerson!”

Blink blink blink.

“Yeah … if you could go ahead and do that, that’d be great.”

Blinky blink.

“Flames … on the sides of my face … burning … heaving breaths …”

Whaaat?

It’s enough work just being witty and charming, you know? Without having to deal with other people’s pop culture failings. There are just some movies EVERYONE should have seen.

Unless, you know, I haven’t seen it. Then probably it’s not that important.

Kidding!

Not really.

If I were making a LIST, which I’m not, but if I were, because I AM, I’d add the following to the four I’ve mentioned thus far:

  • Ace Ventura: Pet Detective
  • Spaceballs
  • Ghostbusters
  • Back to the Future (at LEAST the first two)
  • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
  • Pulp Fiction (full disclosure: I HAVE NOT SEEN THIS.)
  • The Princess Bride

There are definitely a whole hunking lot more than that, but that’s all I personally OWN, and my memory isn’t extending beyond that. Besides, I have to pack: I can’t do ALL the work around here.

What are the movies EVERYONE should see at some point? Surely I’ve left off a ton. (And if you list one I haven’t seen, I promise I’ll watch it so I can get all your jokes.)

22 Comments

Filed under NaBloPoMo

22 responses to “Because there’s more to life than being really, really, ridiculously good-looking

  1. The Sandlot
    Wayne’s World
    Zoolander
    Buffy the Vampire Slayer (the show)

    • Cara and I discussed and we say the following with references in parentheses

      EMPIRE RECORDS (Shock me shock me shock me with that deviant behavior)
      Wayne’s World (Milwaukee is Algonquin for the good land)
      Old School (Frank the Tank)
      Road Trip (I think she went to Boston)
      Airplane (Have you ever seen a grown man naked)
      Forrest Gump (Jenny, I’m not a smart man but I know what love is)
      Mallrats (that kid is back on the escalator)

    • How the hell did I leave off Wayne’s World?

  2. Dodgeball
    Stripes
    Caddyshack
    Top Gun

  3. Ian

    All through this, I was thinking, “But she hasn’t even seen Pulp Fiction.

    Then I found myself foiled (by those meddling kids.)

  4. Billy Madison
    Happy Gilmore
    Empire Records

    • HAPPY GILMORE. How did I leave that off? ARE YOU TOO GOOD FOR YOUR HOME?

      And Empire Records is my absolute favorite movie. I left it off because I wasn’t sure if I was just biased. But I totally agree, that movie is full of quotable lines!

  5. Terri

    Many of the ones listed already (especially The Princess Bride) and…
    Steel Magnolias
    The Shawshank Redemption
    Swingers
    Bull Durham*
    Dazed and Confused*
    Tombstone
    Office Space
    Major League*
    Silence of the Lambs
    Monty Python and the Holy Grail
    *My husband’s selections

  6. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
    Groundhog Day
    Animal House
    Field of Dreams
    Reality Bites (HEY! THAT’S MY BIKE!)

  7. -Fight Club
    -Rainman (I haven’t seen this one)
    -Braveheart
    -Pirates of the Caribbean
    -Kill Bill

  8. Obviously some of these have been said already but I have to second them:

    Pulp Fiction
    Wayne’s World
    Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure
    Dazed & Confused
    Happy Gilmore
    Office Space
    The Princess Bride
    Goonies
    Monty Python & The Holy Grail
    The Shining (Red Rum)
    Spinal Tap

  9. Oh I forgot…Best in Show

  10. Goonies
    The Breakfast Club
    Jaws
    Office Space (*I have my own red swingline COME ON)
    Wizard of Oz

    T would also like to add “A Christmas Story” to the list, and it KILLS HER TO THIS DAY that I have never seen it. I’m sort of doing it on purpose at this point. Heh.

  11. Brian

    E.T.
    The Neverending Story
    Gremlins
    A Nightmare on Elm Street (at least one)
    The Karate Kid
    Labyrinth
    Beetlejuice
    Jurassic Park
    Independence Day
    Avatar
    American Pie

  12. Are we talking only about quotable movies? Because there are lots of movies not yet mentioned that need to be seen not for the *quotes* per se, but just because everyone ever has seen them; eg:

    Star Wars
    The Wizard of Oz
    Psycho

    As for *quotable* movies, may I add _Better Off Dead_ to the list? (TWO DOLLARS!)

  13. shriekhouse

    I am the person going blink blink blink whenever there is a reference to The Godfather, which is ALL THE FREAKIN TIME.

  14. Danell

    How about Waiting…