This is a long way of saying, “I have no idea what to post today.”

One of the things I got for Mother’s Day was a homemade coupon to hop on over to Amazon.com and order myself some kitchen gadgetry.

I redeemed it within 10 minutes of getting out of bed. I’m not sure I’d even put my glasses on at that point.

There they are.

Kitchen gadgets are pretty much my favorite things in the whole wide world to buy. My life changed CONSIDERABLY the day my Microplane Zester arrived. And I haven’t been paid or compensated to say that. Pretty much The Pioneer Woman had one and so I wanted one too.

I’m an individual.

(Except when it comes to cooking gadgets.)

So now there is a cookie scoop, silicone baking mat, garlic press, and flat whisk just waiting to be packed together poorly in a box and kicked all the way to my front door.

I like to picture all delivery people like Jim Carrey at the beginning of Ace Ventura. (Pet Detective, of course. I haven’t watched the beginning of When Nature Calls in probably 10 years. I always skip the first chapter, because SPOILER the raccoon falling into the great abyss sends me to a dark, dark place. I also skip the first chapter of Finding Nemo. Now you know all my secrets.)

My mom won’t let me watch The Land Before Time because it makes her cry.

I’ve spent the rest of the day thinking up OTHER kitchen gadgets I didn’t think to order, but should have. Thus immediately refilling my wish list. It’s good to have goals and dreams, I always say.

For one, I need more cake pans. Which was painfully obvious to me today when I was making this ridiculously delicious banana cake that is supposed to be three layers, but I only have two round cake pans. Do you know what that means I had to do with the rest of the batter? I had to be a big, fat hypocrite, that’s what. I made cupcakes.

Sometimes I am so disappointed in me.

But, if you have three cake pans and some rank old bananas, I definitely recommend this recipe.

Though I don’t recommend my photography skills.

1 Comment

Filed under My girls, NaBloPoMo, Photo essay

One response to “This is a long way of saying, “I have no idea what to post today.”

  1. I got an Amazon gift certificate for my birthday and OMG! COULDN’T! DECIDE! I ended up with the scraper beater attachment for my mixer (so I don’t have to stop to scrape down the sides of the bowl – OH YEAAAAAH!) and these insulated cake strips that are *supposed* to keep your cakes from doming, leaving you with perfectly level cake tops.

    Allegedly.