I had a whole post written, but then I researched it, and it turns out I was completely wrong. So you get this instead.

It was basically, “Why is it Mother’s Day and not Mothers’ Day? Card companies are stupid! Misplaced rage! This is why I am correct! Rally around me in support!”

Then I looked it up on the internets and found out the woman who pretty much made up Mother’s Day insisted on that punctuation to honor the efforts of each individual mother.

Fine, inventor of the holiday. Use your perfectly reasonable justifications over 100 years ago, thus ruining today’s blog post. It’s like she had no idea I’d commit to some arbitrary 14-day posting goal that would drive straight through Mother’s Day weekend, during which I would spend literally tens of minutes throughout my day patting myself on the back for my witty attack on the greeting card companies.

Well played, holiday inventor. Well played.

4 Comments

Filed under NaBloPoMo, Not even kidding

4 responses to “I had a whole post written, but then I researched it, and it turns out I was completely wrong. So you get this instead.

  1. I hate it when reality interferes with my world of cleverness. Feeling your pain.

  2. Joby

    Doing research before posting kinda ruins the fun, not to mention undermining the entire culture of the internet.

    One day you will have to explain to your kids what apostrophes used to be, before they were banned what fer making them werds tuff too rite.

    Glad you’re posting more. I always look forward to it.

  3. I had always wondered about the punctuation! Thanks for the explanation.