Now, I’m not saying I’d turn down a cupcake. If you happen to be offering.

Yesterday, TJ put up a fabulous post for what she declared Temerity Jane Amnesty Day. She has a lot of opinions, people, some of them possibly unpopular, and she’s not afraid to share them. So basically, if you haven’t read that post, go read it. I’ll fill in some words here about how I’m pretending to wait for you instead of just carrying on with my post.

When I woke up this morning, I thought of several Potentially Unpopular Opinions I have that I didn’t include in the comments yesterday. (The comments on that post are FABULOUS, but by the end of reading them, I had to walk away. I was getting TWITCHY at all the things I disagreed with. How could people have all these INCREDIBLY WRONG opinions? Sheesh.) Though lighthearted, many of the opinions were on topics which I consider to be Serious Business. A lot of politics. Stuff that, you know, actually matters. To the world at large.

What I want to do for you today is share with you some of my Potentially Unpopular Opinions that are so incredibly trivial, it makes no sense for me to feel this strongly about them. It’s hardly worth my time to THINK ABOUT THESE THINGS, and yet I’m going to assume it is worth your time to read about them. They aren’t really pet peeves; they are situations where there is a Generally Agreed Upon Majority Opinion that — not only do I not share — I can’t wrap my head around for one reason or another.

1. Bacon. I like bacon just fine. Goodness knows I enjoy a greasy diner breakfast or BLT from time to time. But this bacon-as-meme sensation is something I CANNOT UNDERSTAND. Potentially Unpopular: I PREFER SAUSAGE.

2. Fireflies. The song. I love this song. I don’t just like this song, I LOVE THIS SONG. With zero shame or head-hanging. I actively seek it out on the radio. I haven’t yet purchased the song, but I will. Why, internet? Why do you hate this song so much? What did this song ever do to you? IT IS A FANTASTIC SONG.

3. Cupcakes. When the hell did this diminutive dessert steal the show? You know what I like with my cakelike foods? A FORK. Cake is one of the best things in the entire world. You know why? Because the cake is coated in frosting. The ratio of frosting to cake in a cupcake is just plain wrong. Cupcakes are muffins that are trying too hard. (And so help me hot dog, if you refer to them as CUPPIES, I will throw imaginary darts at your face.)

4. Celine Dion. Why’s this lady such a joke? Have you heard her sing? NOT OF THIS EARTH. During the Olympics, there was a whole lot of lumping her in with Nickelback-as-Canadian-joke. Canada: Do not apologize for Celine Dion! She is incredible. She doesn’t appear to be a terrible person. She’s been married to the same dude more than six months. Why all the ire, friends? She thought your name was Handsome Bob!

Do you have any Potentially Unpopular Opinions? If, you know, you’re willing to converse with a Fireflies-loving cupcake smasher who quite possibly weeps over the music video for the theme from Titantic.

(HER HEART WILL GO ON. SOB.)

7 Comments

Filed under NaBloPoMo

7 responses to “Now, I’m not saying I’d turn down a cupcake. If you happen to be offering.

  1. I can deal with you liking that Firefly song if you can handle the fact that I like a couple Mylie Cyrus songs, including…Party in the USA. (I know!)

    Other trivial-to-others, yet important-to-me unpopular opinions:
    1. I do not like cheese on its own. I will eat pizza (light on the cheese), or the occational cheeseburger, but I will never just eat a hunk of cheese. Gag. Especially awesome since I’m originally from Wisconsin – LAND OF CHEESE. My mom used to torture me (on purpose) by bringing me into cheese stores. GAG GAG GAG.
    2. Ranch dressing. I do not understand the cover-everything-in-ranch-dressing trend. I have friends who dip everything from french fries to pizza in ranch dressing. I don’t even like it on salad, why would I want it on everything else?
    3. I do not like Glee. If I’m in the room when T is watching it I end up feeling like I’ve experienced the television version of a Kidz Bop album.

    • I’m QUITE POSSIBLE also guilty of the Party in the USA love. Maybe also The Climb. It’s an illness.

      I’ll forgive you for Glee. It can’t be for everyone. šŸ˜‰

  2. I completely agree that cakes are better than cupcakes. But cupcakes still rule over other desserts, with the bonus of being little and cute and making you feel like you are somehow eating less. So that’s my take on cupcakes. I’ll try not hold the bacon against you.

    • I should have gone into more detail about the cupcakes. It’s not really that I don’t enjoy a cupcake, because I will seriously devour me some cupcakes. And they DO feel like I’m eating less, when I’m probably really not, so I feel like I’m somehow being denied extra cake. I go to a party with cupcakes, and I’m like, if there was cake, I WOULD HAVE MORE CAKE.

      I have cake entitlement issues. Probably this is why I didn’t go into detail. But you’re totally right. I’d probably still take a cupcake over many other desserts.

      Also, the bacon. I like bacon! It’s just that I like bacon a REGULAR amount. Which doesn’t seem to be enough by today’s internet baconnaise-spreading standards.

  3. 1. I don’t like cake. Or icing. The icing is the worst. Unless it is cream cheese icing and then it is the best.

    2. I don’t like nutella. WHY IS EVERYONE OBSESSED WITH NUTELLA?

    3. I’d rather eat a pizza with anchovies and mushrooms than almost any other topping combination. I know. Cake = bad, anchovies = good. Are you still even reading or have you gone off to get the darts to throw at my face?

    4. I love musicals and I love cheesy stuff and was a member of my high school’s very competitive show choir, but I don’t think Glee is all that. I watch it, sort of, but I’d rather be watching Parenthood.

    5. Party In The Usa, oh yes. I like bad music you can sing along with. Too much.

    6. When men take off their shirts I think it is gross. Any man. Even models. Maybe even especially models. Shudder.

    I should stop now, huh?

  4. 1. Everything is better with bacon. Sausage gives me migraines. So…

    2. Apparently I live under a rock. I have never heard of this song.

    3. People call them CUPPIES? W.T.F?

    4. THANK YOU! Word to your mother… or something like that.

  5. Oh yeah, and about “Fireflies” you have seen this right? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5R3C-jhmEoM&feature=related