NaBloPoFo(rtnight)

What? It could SO be a thing. All the blogging — HALF the commitment!

Except I guess it’s half the blogging, too.

Here’s the thing about me and this here blog: I got stuffs to say, but I never get to the WRITING IT DOWN part. Which is sort of important. And I swear this isn’t one of those “I am SO SORRY for never posting because I know your very lifeblood depends on my regularly updated witticisms, so I will now tell you all about how I’m going to write all the time instead of just writing about something” posts. I mean, it sort of is. But it’s not.

You see, I’ve just finished 1984, so my mind is running wild with the doublethink possibilities.

It’s been 6 months since I did NaBloPoMo, and I really enjoyed it. I loved blogging every day, loved interacting with the internet (beyond Twitter). I love now that I can go back in the archives and have some idea of what I was doing with my time then. (You know. The important things. Like making fun of refrigerators.)

I mentioned to Ian the other day that I should do another NaBloPoMo, this time for May. He reads my words and claims he likes them, so I expected a favorable response to this. But instead he pretty much punched me in the eye and told me I shouldn’t do it for another whole month, because it burnt me out and I didn’t want to keep up with it and YADA YADA, WHAT A JERKFACE, BASICALLY.

Except not, because he totally came up with the NaBloPoFo(rtnight) idea. So I’mma give it a shot. Posting every day! For two whole weeks! OH YOU ARE IN FOR A TREAT.

Seriously. You all are sweet to indulge me.

All the hemming and hawing these days in the blogosphere about WHY we blog and if it’s businessy or for fun or whatever bleep-bloop I’m not listening gets me to thinking about why I blog. I do it because I have eight million thoughts running through my head at any given moment, and typity-typing away on the keyboard every day helps me feel like I’m getting some of that out.

Plus, I’ve met a lot of awesome people. Not really through MY blog, mind you. But through theirs. And now I call them Actual Friends, Not Just People Who Abstractly Exist on the Internet. And that’s not just because they show up IN MY DREAMS. As though we have met in real life.

Hi. I’m totally not a creepster.

Anyway, I’m hoping this will get me back in the swing of things. Okay — IN THE SWING OF THINGS AT ALL.

(I totally just rocked my head back and forth like a pendulum. Full disclosure.)

7 Comments

Filed under NaBloPoMo

7 responses to “NaBloPoFo(rtnight)

  1. I can’t wait! I may be new here, but I’m already up for more.

  2. TJ

    You know what? I would go so far as to say I have faith in your ability to do FIFTEEN SOLID DAYS.

    But I’m just that kind of supportive.

  3. So I totally don’t think you’re a creepster in so much as I also am not a creepster and have never once also had dreams with Internetz Actual Friends in them. Never (in the past week).

    🙂

    Yay for two weeks of you! I’m excited!

  4. I like it! I’ve never been one for NaBloPoMo for the very reason that after a fortnight or so I seriously start to annoy myself. NaBloPoFo(rtnight) is clearly genius.
    Looking forward to daily doses of you! Though I warn you, the more often you post, the more likely you are to make a cameo in my dreams, as I’m totally one to dream about Internet peeps, too. And I mean that in the least creepy way possible.

  5. Ian

    Aww. I love you too, hon.