Thankful

There’s no way not to make this cheesy, right? So I don’t think I’ll even bother fighting it. I have about 80000 things to be getting done right now, but what is most important to me is making note of all I have to be thankful for this year.

I am thankful for my children. Last year on this day, I was 38 weeks pregnant with no idea of the personality of the little person in my belly. Didn’t even know she was a SHE. And now she is walking and calls me mama and has been a greater blessing than I ever could have hoped for. Vio has grown more into her childhood, far out of her babyhood, and it shines through in every conversation we have, every song she sings, and every foot stamped down in defiant independence.

I am thankful for my husband. I don’t know how to put this one into words, quite honestly. We don’t have to speak to each other or be doing anything. Just sitting together, watching TV or playing a game, who we are and what we have is right there in the room with us. As Roo grows and sleeps and moves away from me a bit, we’re finally finding the time together that we’ve been missing so much since she was born.

I am thankful for my family. My parents are both healthy. They are happy, together, and in love. They come to see my girls every week. I am thankful my uncle, who suffered from a debilitating stroke about six years ago, has made it through to see another holiday season.

I am thankful for my friends. Friends who hold me up when it’s all I can do not to fall over from the weight of it all; friends who will stay up with me late into the night, making me laugh when I think I can’t. I am thankful for the new friends I have found this past year, through the insanity that is the internet. I’m thankful for all of you who come here, who read my words and leave me kind words in return.

I’d really like to go on, but at the moment, I am thankful to have the chance to take an uninterrupted shower before my guests start arriving.

Happy Thanksgiving, internet.

Comments Off on Thankful

Filed under Better half, My girls, NaBloPoMo, Nothing but love

Comments are closed.