I never did decide what this post was actually about … go figure

I’m a really big fan of tradition.

To sort of an obsessive degree.

And I don’t just mean holiday traditions. I can make ANYTHING a tradition. Like ordering the exact same thing every time I go to a specific restaurant.

Oh, I’ll play at changing things up. Sit for 10 minutes agonizing over the menu. I’ll narrow it down to two options: something BOLD and NEW, and my old mainstay. Then I wait for the server to call upon me to pick my poison. And it is always, ALWAYS what I usually get.

I’m in the throes of something similar over my holiday menu. Ever since I started doing this myself, I’ve used the same recipes for each component of the meal. Same apple pie filling. Same stuffing. Same candied sweet potatoes.

This morning I even tweeted, looking for pie crust suggestions! See:

And I got suggestions! Really good ones. Pie crusts that look delicious and different and flaky and magnificent.

But probably? Probably I’ll end up using my same recipe I’ve been trying to perfect forever. Certain that THIS TIME will be different.

Really, it’s that I hate to make decisions. About anything. When I was ordering cloth diaper covers for Roo several months back, I AGONIZED over what colors to buy. Uh. Why? Why would I put myself through that? It is a diaper color, not a BOMB WIRE. Red or green? IT MAKES NO DIFFERENCE HERE. I thought Matt was going to lock me out of the house and internet for good.

(Oddly enough, important decisions? THOSE I don’t fret over. I KNOW. It makes no sense.)

Sometimes I think life would be easier if I could just hire someone to stand beside me and make decisions for me. Which restaurant for dinner? Should I buy these pants? DO I WANT BANGS?

But probably I’d need someone else to decide whom to hire.

And I don’t have time for that nonsense. I’ve got, like, a million sweet potato recipes to peruse.

5 Comments

Filed under Decisions decisions, NaBloPoMo, Not even kidding

5 responses to “I never did decide what this post was actually about … go figure

  1. LMAO!

    “DO I WANT BANGS?”

    Priceless, hon. Absolutely priceless.

  2. Ian

    So this whole post was just written to justify to people why you’re not going to use their delicious pie crust recipes?

    • Ha. No. But it does pretty much guarantee no one will offer me suggestions in the future. 🙂

      (And I think I’m going to try a crust I haven’t tried before! At least until tomorrow, when it’s time to make it. We’ll see what happens.)

  3. Jen

    I went to about 5 stores last spring looking for a jacket for my son. Nothing seemed right and I kept making trip after trip, even returned a couple. This fall I bought no less than FOUR snowsuits for my daughter, only to return them all and buy the one I saw originally when it went on sale for 40% off. (Ha! I win. No, I really do, it’s way better than all those others, lol.)
    I can agonize over the little things for DAYS. The big things? In an instant, and mostly no regrets. I need help.