Do I ever cross your mind in the warm sunshine?

I’ve mentioned before that I always have a song playing in my head, and I promise that is not an exaggeration. And it’s not always just one — long before Will Schuester came along, my brain was constructing elaborate mash-ups. Except mine aren’t catchy and awesome. They’re more stabby and … unawesome.

I don’t think this is anything unusual; certainly most people have songs stuck in their heads all the time. What strikes me as odd is that they are rarely songs I have recently heard. They come into my head in response to words and phrases I find in my everyday life — sometimes, without explanation.

Some listy examples:

  • Whenever I visit Heather Spohr’s blog (The Spohrs are Multiplying) I immediately get “You’re the One That I Want” from Grease stuck in my head. (From the lyric, “I got chills, they’re multiplyin’.”) It’s … well, it’s INSANE IN MY BRAIN, is what that one is. But I love her so much I don’t care. (And I also think it’s a hilarious blog name, because it’s a PUN. Puns are the best part of life.)
  • Likewise, when I visit Erin’s blog (It’s Your Movie: You Can Sing if You Want to) I get freaking “SAFETY DANCE” by Men Without Hats in my head. (“We can dance if we want to, we can leave your friends behind.”) Why oh why oh why? (Erin is a fellow Sing Your Way Through Lifer, though. Which makes her insanely awesome.)
  • Every afternoon, once Roo is down for her nap, I find myself singing “Today 4 U” from Rent. I finally figured out the association the other day, which was awesome. Until I forgot it. Probably because some other song pushed it out. And it is bothering me.
  • When I worked at the library, I’d get that horrible LFO “Girl on TV” song in my head whenever I was shelving VHS tapes. There must have been a title that caught my eye with some of the lyrics, but hell if I could ever figure it out.
  • It doesn’t actually have to be songs — I’d pass a book doing clean-up called They Shall Not Pass, and get the entire scene from The Fellowship of the Ring where Gandalf falls into the fire playing in my head. Full scene. Frodo’s NOOOOOO echoing through my thoughts.
  • My brother Scotty seems to be cursed with the same affliction. When he does Play-Doh with Vio, she always wants to make roses. Inevitably, he’s belting out Poison’s “Every Rose Has Its Thorn” by the end of the afternoon.

I have dozens and dozens of these. It doesn’t help that Matt likes to insert his own lyrics (with nicknames for the baby and whatnot) into popular songs. And sing them loudly around the house.

The one benefit from this is that I can kick your ass in Encore. Especially if I have my brother on my team.

1 Comment

Filed under NaBloPoMo, Not even kidding

One response to “Do I ever cross your mind in the warm sunshine?

  1. 1. As you know, I sing all the time too. All the time. Hence my blog name.

    2. I could TOTALLY BEAT YOU at Encore. I’ve honestly never known anyone else who even knows that game exists and I rule at it. I sincerely hope that someday we get to square off.