Girl Talk Thursday – Who needs pretty boys?

This week the lovely Katy is our guest host, and she makes her blogging debut telling us all about the celebrities she digs on even though they aren’t conventionally “hot”.

This one is a PUZZLER for me. Not because I only like me the hot ones, but because once I find someone attractive, I automatically assume other people do too. Because that makes PERFECT SENSE! And then I feel like I’m being MEAN. Like, hey rich, successful Hollywood guy! Even though you’re not Johnny Depp, I STILL TOTALLY THINK YOU’RE HOT.

I hear they have it bad for SAHMs with library science degrees. Which makes sense. In my diary.

But! These are the rules and the game must be played!

I’ll do my best to leave cartoon characters out of it this week, though.

First on the list was easy peasy pudding pop and came to me immediately:

Oh I love him so much. He’s a chef; he’s fascinated by science; he uses words and phrases like THUSLY and OH BOTHER. And. Glasses.

Love.

Next up. I really don’t want to say it, you guys. Matt is going to flip his lid. He hates this guy. HATES THIS GUY. I will never live it down. This may be the biggest mistake I’ve ever made in my life (and I totally used to wear TAPERED LEG JEANS.)

PLEASE DON’T LEAVE ME, MATT.

He’s brilliant! He is a brilliant actor. I adore him in every role he plays. I know they’re all arrogant jerks, but he’s still this cuddly teddy bear of — Yeah. I am never living this one down.

I don’t even know where to go from here. Quick! To get back in his good graces …

Does he count? I don’t know that he’s conventionally attractive, but maybe he is? See? THIS IS DIFFICULT. I’ve always had a soft spot for him. Especially in The Mask for the 12 or so seconds he’s not a green-faced-creep-monkey.

Then there is the ever lovable,

whom I have loved since his days on The Daily Show. I ADORE his role on The Office. Honestly, I don’t know how the show existed before he joined the cast. Andy Bernard is one of the most endearing characters on television. ENDEARING, I say. And endearing equates with hot in the thesaurus in my brain.

And, in one final I HATE YOU to Fox:

Big nose. Goofy face. Crazy hair. I am a sucker for that combination. Topher, I apologize for letting pretty-boy-Ballard knock you off my Fictional Five list. I AM ONLY HUMAN, after all. But maybe you could wipe my memory from that little incident and we could go hang out in one of the sleep pods and– Ahem.

So, in summary: Glasses. Goofy. Endearing. Dorky. My husband doesn’t even know who I am anymore.

26 Comments

Filed under Girl Talk Thursdays, NaBloPoMo, Not even kidding

26 responses to “Girl Talk Thursday – Who needs pretty boys?

  1. Hahaha I love Alton Brown too. OMG.

    TOPHER. I WANTED TO HATE YOU AND YOU SUCKED ME IN AND NOW YOU ARE GONE. SO I HATE YOU AGAIN.

  2. LOL, I’m pretty sure tapered leg jeans is a bigger offense than loving Philip Seymour Hoffman. πŸ˜‰

    Aw, I think Jim Carrey is cute when he’s not making weird faces. And I’m right there with you on Ed Helms – Andy Bernard is adorable.

  3. I think we should see other people.

  4. Hahaha, I love this list πŸ˜€

  5. Topher is hot! I considered Jim Carrey, but the faces are just too much to get past.

    • I’ve seen the Ace Ventura movies so many times I could practically recite them, so I don’t think I even NOTICE the funny faces anymore.

      That’s probably not something to brag about so publicly. Ha.

  6. Oh I love Jim Carrey! But I like the weird faces.

  7. I used to feel tingly over Alton but then I read some things and decided he and I would not get along.

    So I’ll just drool over the rest of your list. πŸ™‚

  8. I think Matt’s comment *might* be the best part of this blog. LOL

  9. Matt

    Now that I’ve somewhat recovered…

    RE: “Glasses. Goofy. Endearing. Dorky. My husband doesn’t even know who I am anymore.”

    Umm, if I had glasses that would pretty much be me (well, assuming I’m endearing..).

    All in all, I’m pretty sure I have a lot more in common with these guys than your other lists.

  10. I dunno man, this is why I couldn’t do this entry this week. I genuinely find people like this attractive. I don’t understand HOTNESS. HOTNESS to me is like, i dunno, Jorma Taccone. I mean really. That’s the end all, be all, hotness to me. I like large noses too. And eyebrows. Heavy ones. Angry ones. So you see, I think I lose out here.

    I’m all over that Alton Brown like white on rice. Or, you know, Brown on rice, for the health concious. Or makers of bad puns. Whichever you see fit.

  11. katy

    Yea…cooking. Ugly cooking even. But clever, smart cooking. I dig it.

    But Hoffman? Man, I want to smack his face. Not because he’s ugly or anything….but just because…why not? It’s this weird vibe I get from his eyes, nose, mouth, chin, cheeks…

    ::must smack::

    Hard.

    Also…some of his movies. He’s all like “ooooo, I’m artsy.” and I’m all, “Artsy?!? You’re a moron Mr. Hoffman. Suck it.”

  12. Now THAT’S a comment I can get behind.

  13. Pingback: Girl Talk Thursday – Clearly we love list-making, particularly in the length of five items « dashoff