AppleCheeks Review and Giveaway!

I’ve been a cloth diapering mama for about 16 months now, and in that time I have amassed quite a stash. Much like the ducks in the tub, the diapers seem to multiply in the night. I like to stick with what I know, and because of that, I haven’t strayed from the two or three brands I’ve come to love. (I also do this at restaurants. I spend 10 minutes painstakingly poring over the menu, only to end up ordering the same thing I ordered last time. And I’ll leave it to you to guess what I’d ordered the time before that.) When I see new diapers advertised, I drool and covet, but I can’t justify the expense in adding to an already ample stash.

However, that does not stop me from entering as many cloth diaper giveaways as possible. When I saw one several months ago for a MiniTest from the brand-spanking new AppleCheeks system, I was super excited to enter. I may have jumped up and down a little when I won. I can’t tell you how awesome I think it is that there was a mix-up giving me an extra diaper, because that means I can pass that excitement on to the next mama (or dad!)

AppleCheeks diapers are a two-size pocket diapering system. Size 1 fits a baby up to 20 lbs., and size 2 is for 18 lbs. and up. Since Roo was already 6 months old at the time I won the contest, I went with the larger size. The MiniTest comes with a choice of envelope cover and three one-size inserts in bamboo or hemp. I already had some hemp in my stash, so I decided to give the bamboo a try.

How the system works:

You can either lay the tri-folded insert in the cover or stuff it into the pocket. The first option allows you to reuse the cover several times, while the second will keep baby from feeling wetness.

Diapering baby goes a little something like this:

Applecheeks2 Applecheeks6 Applecheeks13 Applecheeks14

Things I love about the system:

  • Snap enclosures. While personally I find touch tape to give a much better fit, Roo figured out how to undo those diapers months ago. The two rows of snaps allowed for a better fit than I expected. This is my go-to when I want her to be able to crawl around in just a diaper. (Since I live in FL, that happens fairly often in the summer. Or any other season.)
  • Ease of wash. You don’t have to remove the inserts before throwing them in the wash. For all you pocket diaper veterans out there, let me repeat that: You do not have to remove the inserts before throwing them in the wash. The wide envelope enclosure allows them to agitate out on their own.
  • Ease of stuffing. My only other experience with pocket diapers is the bumGenius 3.0. They can be a bit cumbersome to stuff, especially when wanting to add extra inserts. This isn’t an issue with the AppleCheeks envelope cover. Even my large-handed husband had no problems.
  • Versatility. I love that the cover is designed to be used like either a regular diaper cover or a pocket diaper. I’ve even used it over a pre-fold, and it was perfect.
  • Softness. Both the bamboo insert and the micro-fleece lining are great against my daughters’ sensitive skin. Neither has had a rash or redness associated with these diapers.

Things I don’t love about the system:

  • Snaps. Ha ha. I know. While I feel the snaps do an excellent job of holding in messes around the legs and waist, the bottom still felt a bit saggy and droopy. (In all fairness, Roo is at the bottom of the weight recommendations for the size 2 diaper. It was less saggy on Vio, but still not as snug as some of my other diapers.)
  • Two-size system. While this is far better than the three- or four-size systems of some of the other cloth diaper companies, I very much prefer the one-size systems. I can fit both my girls (17 lbs. and 28 lbs.) in an AppleCheeks size 2, but that only became possible recently. They’ve been sharing one-size diapers since Roo hit 9 lbs. or so. (Of course, a plus to using a two-size system is that the diapers will be less worn and probably last much longer. I’ll admit this one is a toss up, but I personally prefer one-size systems.)

I encourage you all to give AppleCheeks a visit to learn more about this awesome system. They offer a lot of different inserts and doublers for better customization, none of which I’m familiar enough with to do justice here. I have had no leaks and no wicking with this system. This has opened my eyes to be less afraid to try new diapers. Heck, maybe next time I’m out to dinner, I’ll order me some fried shrimp heads. Or my usual with the soup instead of the salad. Either way, I have been INSPIRED, folks.

Now for the good part!

The prize: Roo, show them what they’re playing for!

Applecheeks21

One MiniTest, which includes a size 2 envelope cover in Sailor’s Blue and 3 bamboo one-size inserts. (This is a duplicate of my prize. We can be prize buddies!)

The rules: Anyone who has previously won or received a free promotional AppleCheeks diaper is ineligible to win this contest.

To enter: Leave a comment on this post describing in one sentence what you would say to convince a friend to switch to cloth diapers. (If you don’t currently use cloth diapers, explain in one sentence why you want to make the change.) One comment per person. Please leave a valid email address, or I will be unable to contact you.

The contest will run until 11:59PM, EDT, on 09/16/2009. A winner will be selected using a random number generator and will be contacted via email. Prize must be claimed within one week, or a new winner will be selected.

79 Comments

Filed under Reviews

79 responses to “AppleCheeks Review and Giveaway!

  1. sarah

    To convince a someone to make a switch to cloth diapers I would tell him/her that it is much more economical and of course environmentally friendly!

  2. Amie

    We exclusively use applecheeks on our 7 month old and absolutely love them!! Would love to add to my stash of size 2 when she fits into them šŸ™‚

  3. Heather McKinnon

    I would say to a friend: I have NOT had one blowout from my applecheeks, no poopie mess like you would get from a disposable!

  4. Colleen

    I’d say, do you like saving money?

  5. Yolanda

    I would like to give cloth diapers a try to save some money. With our new high efficiency washing machine, it just makes sense! Why not do the earth a favor and make the switch to diapers that are more cost effective and WAY CUTER! šŸ™‚

  6. Kylie

    I love so many things about cloth diapers and believe they are better for baby and for the environment but my convincing statement is “Many times it is so much easier to do a load of laundry than run to the store when you’re about out of diapers.”

  7. Jusitne McDilda

    I’ve been trying to convince my brother to switch ever since we made the switch last month, I keep telling/showing him how much money we are saving by not buying disposables. (my nephew is 4days older then my daughter)

  8. I would say, do you know how much money you are literally throwing away by using disposable diapers?

  9. Cloth diapers don’t have the chemicals that disposables do, there is less incident of diaper rash in babies who use cloth, you are not contributing to the large amount of diapers in the landfills, they are WAY cheaper than disposables, you never have to worry about running to the store because you are out of diapers, and they are just so darn adorable! : )

  10. Jennifer Hamitlon

    “Cloth diapers are healthier for baby, better for the environment, will save you tons of moola, easier to use than you think, and finally, cloth diapered bums are THE CUTEST :)”

  11. Victoria

    I tried the original cloth diapers and i always feel like im going to poke my son so i gave up and just bought disposable but they seem to be giving him a rash so i was really doing some checking on this kind and im really starting to want to give them a chance and let my younger sister (who is currently 6 months preggo) know about these so she can just start with these instead of anything else.

  12. Laura

    I would love to switch to cloth because of the standard environment and cost savings reasons… but, they’re also soooo cute!!

  13. Veronica

    Cloth diapers not only save money, but they make this world a better place for our children’s children.

  14. Devin

    Besides the environmental, cost, and cute factors…we love that any time our baby girl has diaper rash (usually after temping in a ‘sposie) it will be GONE after only one or two cloth diapers…WITHOUT creams.

  15. Sara Barnett

    I have been trying to convice my hubby (for over 2 years now) that we should make the switch to cloth diapers, but to no avail.
    So quietly and slowly I have been working on building up a stash, whilst continually dropping comments on the benefits of cloth diapering
    Sneaky I know šŸ™‚
    This would only help me further my mastermind plan!

  16. Darlene

    I would say “With all the chemicals your exposing your little one to and money your throwing away, How could you not try?????? AND they are soooooo cute in them”

  17. jill t

    i would have to say to my friend that you wont have any ‘poops up the back’ with cloth diapers! that is reason enough to use cloth in my opinion!

  18. I would simply say, “They are cute, easy, affordable, planet friendly and SO not what they used to be!”

    (email: mmiller0912@aol.com)

  19. I would tell them that it’s safer for baby’s skin!

  20. Jessica

    I would say “Look how much cuter my kids butt is then your kids butt!”

    ps. Would die if I won this! I’ve been eyeing AppleCheeks for awhile now, but like you, can’t justify buying them until my daughter outgrows some of the diapers we already have.

  21. Ian

    So. My entry:

    I’m thinking of switching because it seems to me that, with the obvious environmental benefits, it really comes down to needing a justification NOT to make the switch–and when I do the research, none of the reasons I can think of hold up.

  22. To convince someone to switch to cloth I would tell them how much better it is for your childs skin.

    mommainflipflops AT gmail.com

  23. Rebecca

    “These aren’t our mothers’ cloth diapers.”

  24. I would tell them that for a small loss of convenience, you get a cheaper and cuter diaper solution that will make diapering interesting instead of just another chore. thanks! ruth dot gray at gmail dot com

  25. Charlene

    love cloth diapers!!!!!!!!! many reasons, environmentally friendly, less cost, no more explosions, nice soft bamboo on their bottoms, and soo cute! I could go on and on!

  26. I would say, “Cloth diapers are as easy as disposables, cost less in the long run, and don’t harm our planet.” I have actually said this to people, too. Thanks for sharing your good fortune with other cloth diaper mamas!

  27. Cindy

    lovin’ my cloths and have 2 kids currently using them. My son started to train himself, at just under two because he didn’t like to feel wet. You don’t get that with disposables. Need I say more?

  28. Grace

    I try and convince relatives and friends to use cloth diapers by telling them that the are cheaper in the long run, better for baby’s bum, easy to launder, and super cute.

  29. Ashlee

    I would say: What would you prefer on YOUR bum all day, paper/plastic or cloth?

    mcgratas@hotmail.com

  30. brett

    to convince someone? i’d say “these are NOT your mom’s cloth diapers from when we were little. they are more of an accessory :o) and besides, they are good for the environment!”

  31. Lisa Meerman

    Your baby’s bottom will be so much happier (never a rash for my baby with applecheeks!)

  32. I would say: If you can imagine life with out runs to the store to buy more diapers and wipes, taking out horribly stinky trashcans, searching for trashcans in public, and using that diaper money to go on dates with your hubby, then you will know what it is like to cloth diaper!

  33. Marcie

    My sentence is “I will lend you my size one applecheeks for two weeks and I promise you, you will never want to switch back.”

  34. Monica

    I would ask “why not cloth diaper?”…whatever worry or hesitation they have to trying a cloth diaper, there is a counter argument that ends with many more positive outcomes than with disposables. šŸ™‚

  35. amy adair

    I am expecting my first baby in november and I am going to be trying cloth diapers. I decided to try them because they are cheaper over time, better for baby, and so soft and cute!

  36. I think most people are swayed by the less money on diapers idea, but we can’t forget the environmental reasons and the health benefits!

  37. Anna

    I’m not sure that I DO want to make the change to cloth diapers. But, it would be great to win this and try it out. I think I have it all built up in my head that its going to be difficult, and if I try these and they are pretty easy I will probably switch!

  38. Karen

    Who wants to deal with all of that garbage??! Cloth diapers are easy, good for the planet, and much cheaper in the long run, it is simple!

  39. Viviane

    Would you like to avoid putting 3000 diapers in a landfill and save thousands of dollars?

  40. If you don’t wanna switch because it’s better for the environment, do it because it’s better for your baby. How ’bout because it’s better for your wallet? Or the fact that they make your baby’s tush the dang cutest thing ever! Sold?! I thought so!

  41. I would tell them how much better it is for baby, how much money can be saved, and how it is SO much cuter than disposables!.

  42. Kirsty

    To get someone to switch I would tell them “it’s nothing like the tree-hugging pain in the arse you think it’ll be – you throw in a couple extra loads of laundry a week, you save a ton of money and you deal with fewer rashes.” Loooove my cloth diapers and would love to win this one šŸ™‚

  43. melanie

    I have a three month old and have wanted to switch to cloth diapers because of the cost. I haven’t yet because we are using the last of our shower gifts disposables. I need to start building a stash but I never seem to win any of the giveaways for cloth diapers. What’s your secret? šŸ™‚

  44. I’d say what convinced me: You can save money AND – since cloth diapers are much more leak-proof – spend less time and energy cleaning up poop explosions. It’s a win-win!

  45. Liz

    Give cloth diapers a try…these are not the cloth diapers you mother used!

  46. I finally own my very own washer and dryer and I’m willing to give cloth diapers a try!

  47. Nicole

    My message to a friend about cloth diapering is that it is healthier for your baby, cheaper and better for the enviro all in one……. so why not try it!?

  48. tasha

    Make a statement! They are fashionable, good for the environment and your wallet. I’ve had less issues with cloth diapers than disposables (such as diaper rash and blowouts)

  49. I would point out the economical and environmental benefits of cloth diapering. And if that didn’t work, I would point out the cuteness factor!

  50. Rachael

    I would love to switch to cloth diapers, because I now have twins and I am going to be in the poor house soon with all the diapers I am going through. šŸ™‚

  51. Rosie Janzen

    Just can’t stand the huge garbage bag full of disposables every week.

  52. Heather H.

    My sister has a 6 week old baby and I would love her to change from disposable diapers.
    jswandrn @ gmail.com

  53. I would love to switch from disposables to cloth for my 4 month old. I actually bought some pre-folds and the Apple Cheeks in size 1. The size seemed a bit off for her (at 12 lbs). I’d love to try the size 2 or my stash with the Apple Cheeks inserts before I buy anything else. šŸ˜¦

    Otherwise I’ll pass it on to a friend that is due in December.

  54. Lauren

    I’d love to try cloth – throwing away all those disposables makes me sick!

  55. Christina

    I would tell them about how much better they are for Baby’s bum, how much more economic they are, and especially how they are WAY easier than packing up all the kids and heading to the store once a week to chuck out $$$ AGAIN for disposables!

    ccherkas AT gmail DOT com

  56. Jeni

    I am newly pregnant with my first child and am leaning more and more towards cloth diapering despite the grumblings from my family…mostly because I care about the environment and my wallet, but in all honesty I’m most concerned with my baby’s comfort.

    jennysaispas AT gmail DOT com

  57. Kaitlin

    Cloth diapers are soooo much cuter than disposable!

  58. Pamela

    I’d say, if you’re worried about cleaning up a little poop, why did you have children? šŸ™‚

  59. Cloth diapers are good for your baby and good for the planet!

  60. Sue

    Easier, better, cheaper…what’s not to love?

  61. Jen

    Easy on the wallet, easy on the earth, so easy to use and so cute!

  62. Melissa Lisik

    Switch because the colors of Applecheeks are fantastic!!!

  63. If I’d only known how easy and inexpensive cloth could be, I would have cloth diapered all of my children, not just the youngest!

  64. GwennS

    I would say: Did you know that you will spend thousands on disposables when you could instead be spending a few hundred?

    iluvmygrlz at yahoo.com

  65. Linnea

    It is so much easier than you’d think, especially with all the great diapers like Applecheeks!

  66. Carrie

    I would say, “No more of those night trips to the store to buy diapers!”

    xtiggerroo at hotmail dot com

  67. Angela

    As a breastfeeding and cloth diapering mom we don’t have to shop in the baby aisle at the grocery store until he is 6 months–it has certainly been great for our wallet. Cloth diapers are so easy to use, the apple cheeks size ones we have never leaked and they are cute to boot. My husband got really on board with the cost saving and the environmental aspects so he gets really excited about doing diaper laundry!

  68. I’ve never tried Applecheeks but would love to! My hubby just got a new job, so we have to wait a few weeks before I can buy some new fluff…but if I win, he will be so happy, because that will satisfy my craving for a while šŸ™‚

  69. Jen

    So much easier, better for the environment, & saves you money!

  70. I would tell my friend: You will LOVE clothdiapers, I’ve been using them for over a year & kick myself for not trying them sooner….they are so EASY & I’ve saved over $500 in the last year from not buying disposables.

  71. Kate Madson

    I would love to try a new diapering system. We currently use bumgenuius and fuzzi bunz, but I’m looking for something else.

  72. Vicky

    I’m looking for a more economical and earth friendly way to diaper my son and have been told nothing but good things about these diapers.

  73. Holly

    Cloth diapers are best for the environment and for baby’s sensitive skin, but Applecheeks are best for no leaks ever!!

  74. Here’s what I would say:
    Cloth diapers are not only easy and cute, but better for the environment, your wallet, and your baby’s bum!

  75. Lena

    Cloth diapering is environmentally friendly, extremely easy, gentle on your baby’s skin and you save money. What more could you want?

  76. Sharon S.

    I would tell them not only is cloth diapering better for baby, it costs less, and is better for the environment.

  77. Kirsten

    Cloth diapers are great for the environment, baby’s delicate skin and your pocketbook.

  78. Besides saving money, reducing waste and preventing rash, with cloth diapers you get no blowouts!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  79. Cloth diapers are a environmentally responsible option that saves baby’s bum and also saves a nice chunk of change!