Girl Talk Thursday – All up in your shower business

Jumping right in, there’s not a whole lot I can say on the topic of my shower routine. Basically I have to get in and out as quickly as possible, lest some small person should come along, throw open the curtain, and ask, “Are you done yet, Mommy??” Let us fall back on bullet points, shall we?

Unmitigated Truths About Diane’s Showering Experience

  • For starters, I shower properly: facing away from the water. HEAR THAT, SHAMPOO COMMERCIAL PEOPLE? (Emily explains this far more eloquently here.)
  • I use a shower pouf instead of a washcloth. Washcloths don’t suds up well, and I need a lot of suds to feel clean.
  • I love Bath & Body Works shower gel. My favorite is a discontinued (OF COURSE) scent called Water Blossom Ivy. A couple of years ago they had a big sale on it online, and I bought a lot. Enough that I’ve still not run out two years later. This is because the gel is super concentrated, not because I rarely shower. That being said,
  • I don’t shower every day. I aim for every other day, or whenever I get hella-sweaty, whichever comes first.
  • I also don’t wash my hair every time I shower. My hair is pretty dry, so I try not to wash it more than a couple times a week. Since I have two small children who rarely allow me the luxury of showering for more than 28 seconds, THIS IS NOT USUALLY A PROBLEM.
  • I do everything in the same order every time. This is due to necessity rather than being OCD, because otherwise I would flat out forget to do something.
  • I don’t use shave gel. I shave while the conditioner sits, so I run my fingers through my hair and use the bits of excess conditioner to soften my skin. Crafty.
  • Not having shave gel is part of my desire not too have 87 bottles of various cleansing products in my shower. I have separate shampoos and conditioners for straight/curly hair, body wash, and face wash. Matt has shampoo, body wash, and a bar of soap. This is necessary, because there are about 900 rubber ducks and frogs in our shower. We started out with just a few, but clearly they got freaky when we weren’t looking. At least someone is getting some in my shower. Sigh.
  • That got depressing. Moving on.
  • I wash my face at the end of the shower (but only if my face is feeling oily. Otherwise I never wash it, which maybe sounds gross, but I’ve always had good skin, and I credit that to the fact that I don’t overwash it. Hey, look, the parenthetical aside is now longer than the rest of this bullet point, so maybe I should wrap it the hell up. What was I talking about? Oh, right. I wash my face at the end of the shower,) after I condition my hair, so I always make sure I wash my hands with soap in between. Otherwise I’d be rubbing conditioner INTO MY FACE.
  • I don’t sing in the shower, but sometimes I dance. To whatever song is stuck in my head. It’s a compulsion.

That’s all I’ve got. Now lay it on me in the comments. What kind of shower quirks do you have?

9 Comments

Filed under Girl Talk Thursdays

9 responses to “Girl Talk Thursday – All up in your shower business

  1. Matt

    My general routine is:
    – Put shampoo in hair (I’ll also use conditioner every once in a while [when I’m feeling whimsical], maybe once a month)
    – Wash rest of body with poof-thingy and bodywash
    – Rinse all over
    – Shave in the sink, not in the shower (to save water), roughly twice a week. This should probably be three times a week, but I’m too lazy.

    If I’m out of it (given that my showers are usually at 6am), sometimes I’ll sit down for a minute or two facing the shower and just let it run over my face to wake myself up.

    Oh, and I shower every day M-F, but usually not on the weekend (unless I work outside). So Sunday probably isn’t the best day for me to make a good impression.

  2. Your shower routine sounds awesome, because you started by FACING AWAY FROM THE WATER. Thank you. So. Much.

    I never used to wash my face, but found that I can wake up better/feel more refreshed (Because lets be honest, I don’t shower in the AM unless absolutely necessary) if I use this nice fresh-smelling facewash. I would tell you the name but I’m not home and I can’t remember. Oh, wait, Origins! It’s from Origins. That’s all I’ve got.

  3. That’s pretty much my shower. Except I also scrub my feet while my conditioner is conditioning.

  4. Conditioner for shaving! Yes! I’m all about using that or my body wash. One less thing to buy and I think they work better than most of the shaving gels/creams/whatever anyway.

  5. It’s funny, I never really thought about it, but yeah, I face away from the water for the most part as well. If you didn’t, you wouldn’t get anything in your hair. That wouldn’t make much sense.

    I don’t shower every day either, and I don’t have the excuse of having mini-people to care for. I just don’t think it’s necessary. And dad, if you’re reading this, I’m totally kidding. Of course I shower every day. And mom, ignore what I said to dad.

    Also, I almost never wash my face. I don’t even know that I have a face wash. I’ve had pretty good luck with my skin, so I don’t want to do anything to mess that up. Us halvsies, we got it good.

  6. There is only one correct way to face and that is away from the shower water.

    It looks more sexy for the commercials to have the woman splashing water up in her face with her elbows blocking her boobs.

  7. I love the duckies getting it on image in my head.

    EXACTLY, on the face washing.

  8. Pingback: AppleCheeks Review and Giveaway! «

  9. Yes facing away from the water is usually important. Or the evil shampoo will get you! lol (A blog I wrote this morning.) Anyway good tips. My mom was telling me she uses conditioner too.

    I use shampoo to shave with cause it usually doesn’t seem to wear down my razor as bad as conditioner. Plus conditioners/lotions tend to get my razors super dirty quick too, as if the stuff doesn’t rinse off. LOL 🙂

    Anyway rad post.