Girl Talk Thursday – Let’s talk music

Back in college, my roommate Shannon and I had this joke about how Thursday should be called “Nasty Thursday”. She had a class she absolutely hated on Thursday mornings, and so it ALWAYS felt like it was Thursday. Now that I try to do Maria’s Girl Talk Thursday every week, I’m getting that same always-Thursday feeling, albeit a far less nasty one.

This week we’re talking about music! I’m not sure if it’s favorite songs or most meaningful songs or a combination of both. I’m just going to talk about some songs. Some of my favorites, some that mean a lot. WARNING: These are not necessarily high quality songs. I may be laughed off the internet. I am FINE WITH THIS.

“Alone” by Heart. This is, far and away, my favorite song in the world. It’s the way it starts out as one thing, and then the chorus builds, and, before you know it, Ann Wilson is going freaking insane all over the place. The lyrics are so desperate, longing to get that person you want so badly ALONE. As in WITHOUT OTHERS. I can relate, is all I’m saying.

“What a Wonderful World” by Louis Armstrong. Is there a song more full of hope than this one? This song makes me smile and blink back happy tears every time I hear it. Seriously, play this one at my funeral, folks. That’s the kind of message I’d want people to take from my life.  I hear babies cry. I watch them grow. They’ll learn much more than I’ll ever know. And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.

“Sweet Baby James” by James Taylor. Shannon (of Nasty Thursday fame, see above) was pretty much the best roommate you could ask for. When I found out I was going to be in a triple, and one of the girls was planning to rush a sorority … well. I was concerned. But Shannon is pretty much one of the most amazing, beautiful people you could ever hope to meet in your lifetime. (Seriously, click over to her site and check out some of her art. She floors me.) I don’t know how or why it started, but she used to sing us to sleep some nights, and “Sweet Baby James” was always one of my favorites. It was the first song I sang to Vio, when she was brand new in the hospital, and it’s the first song she asks for when she wants a lullaby.

One” by U2. True story: I used to hate U2. Then I heard this song, and I changed my mind.

ANYTHING by Missy Higgins. This is where the music with real meaning for me starts. Her first album got me through some rough times in my early 20s. I’m pretty sure, based on what she wrote in that album, she and I would have a lot to talk about over a big pitcher of margaritas. ‘Cause I’m a little bit tired of fearing that I’ll be the bad fruit nobody buys. Tell me did you think we’d all dream the same?

“Cry” and “Hush” by Angie Aparo. You probably have no idea who Angie Aparo is. Or that Angie Aparo is a dude. But you do know the song “Cry”, because Faith Hill peed all over it and then destroyed my radio with it. He came to UF to do a free concert in the Reitz Ballroom during my second year, and only 30 or so people showed up. I know he’s not a big name act that tons of people have heard of, but his music has always spoken to me on that same level. I can’t tell you what an experience it was to hear him sing from 10 feet away, and then get to TALK TO HIM after the show. Love this man, love his music. There’s a moment lost in time when she says, “Hush. I’m on your side. It’s just the two of us.”

“Fair” by Remy Zero. This is off the Garden State soundtrack, and, honestly, I could put that whole album on here. This is my favorite track. It just oozes the sexy for me. Definitely a lot of passion. Also, I’m sort of in love with Zach Braff, so maybe that’s clouding my judgment. What if you catch me? Where would we land?

ANYTHING by Journey. Duh. This may be where I get laughed at, but can any of you not rock out when “Don’t Stop Believin'” comes on? Or not wail along with “Open Arms”? (Erika, I KNOW you’ve got my back here.)

Guys, I could do this all day. The more I write, the more songs I think of. I’ll stop here and let you all take over in the comments. (And any time you want to play along with Girl Talk Thursday, just click the button at the top of the post! There are PRIZES, dudes.)

14 Comments

Filed under Girl Talk Thursdays

14 responses to “Girl Talk Thursday – Let’s talk music

  1. Ian

    I’m only just getting into Heart now. I’ve ended up getting four or five of their tracks off iTunes in the last month or two. Favourite so far is “Barracuda”.

    And should anyone try to laugh you off the Internet, me and my three Spice Girls albums and two Atomic Kitten albums will be right there to back you up.

  2. I can’t listen to “What a Wonderful World” by Louis Armstrong. It reminds me of that really powerful montage in Bowling for Columbine — which left me in tears in my classroom when we watched it in my college Logic course. Still makes me cry every time.

    I love the version of “One” that Bono & Mary J Blige do together. It’s AWESOME. hell, that song is awesome no matter what.

  3. Journey songs just get better every time I hear them.

    • Now THAT is what I’m talking about.

      Come on, guys, who else has the Journey love?

      • Seriously.
        I’ve seen them live twice, once with the fake Steve Perry (Steve Augeri – who was fantastic) and once with some other guy who was not worth driving through traffic to see.

        I’m still holding out a shred of hope for a true reunion of all the originals.

  4. STEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEVE PERRRRRRRRRRRY!

    Yes. Journey. Good for now, good for always. Don’t feel any shame, because I don’t think there’s a single person on the planet who doesn’t love at least one Journey song.

  5. I’m with you on Alone. It’s definitely at the top of my fave stalker song list. We’ve talked about this, but I do really like Celine Dion’s version of it as well.

    I don’t care much for U2, but I really enjoy One. It sort of reminds me of a song by Hootie & the Blowfish (how’s that for being laughed off the internet?) called One Love. That was sort of my theme song for a while.

  6. I love your taste in music. Of the songs that I know on your list, I love all of them. Big fan of Heart and Journey 🙂 And thanks again for telling me about Missy Higgins

  7. Oooh I love some of these songs too. What a Wonderful World is the song my husband and his mother danced to at our wedding and I ended up making it her ringtone on my cell phone. (I know, I’m a total dork like that). One by U2 is also fantastic. 🙂 Journey, James Taylor… love them.

  8. Mina

    I found your blog because of an email alert set up for Angie Aparo. He’s terrific, isn’t he. One of the best artists no one has ever heard of.

  9. Alone is one of the best songs ever written. Love it!

  10. We sing Don’t Stop Beleiving all the time at work

    One by U2 is a great tune. Have you heard the version that they did for the Shelter from the Storm concert a few years back with Mary J Blidge. It takes the song to a whole new level

    (really kicks in around the 2:30 min mark)

  11. I love love love Sweet Baby James. Also, Journey. Particularly Lights.