Girl Talk Thursday – How do you unwind?

Thursday again? ALREADY? Let’s do this thing.

This week Maria has posed the question, “How do you unwind?”

Well, Maria. As I said to a friend last night when I found out this week’s topic, I’m fairly certain I’ve been “wound” the last eight months or so. Any of you with children know the first year of a baby’s life is … well. You know. So I don’t really have to go into it. Because of that, I don’t find I have a lot of time to wind down. When I do get a chance, here are a few of the things I do to help me relax.

  • Zone out online. Reading blogs, playing on Twitter, and chatting with friends helps keep me sane. If I’m talking to other people or reading their stories, I’m not as worried about my own.
  • Reading. We’ve finally started visiting the library regularly again, and this has kept me stocked with a huge stack of books on my bedside table. One of the millions of things I love about the library is that it allows me to bring home a ton of stuff without having to give it super careful consideration (as I am wont to do with anything I purchase. That’s another post entirely.) Nothing can calm me to sleep (that I’m willing to talk about on this blog, anyway) like lying in bed with a book.
  • Foot massages. We’ve started alternating nights, each giving the other a foot rub. I think we both let our stress go to our feet, so this is AMAZING. I highly recommend it. There’s really nothing better when I’ve been nursing a dozing baby for 2 hours who will not deign to rest her head anywhere except my bosom.
  • Inane television/movies. For me? This means it has to be something I’ve watched before. Preferably a LOT of times. If I have to think too much, I’d just rather not. I’m as bad at wanting to get to know new characters as I am about getting to know new actual people. (Not you, though. YOU are amazing.) This means we watch a lot of Friends and Clue.
  • Solving my Rubik’s Cube. Yes. Nerd alert. I learned last year, and I’ve recently picked it back up. It takes me about 5 minutes to solve, but I will do it over and over and over again when I’m stressed out. It’s a great anxiety-killer when waiting in the doctor’s office as well.
  • Cooking/baking. Unlike with TV, for it to really help me unwind, it needs to be a new recipe. The more complicated, the better. A kitchen filled with new smells and textures can definitely transport me out of momdom, at least for a few minutes.
  • Turning up the music. Yesterday was a long day. Matt’s been getting home about 90 minutes later than usual. Since I usually barely scrape through until he gets home at his regular time, mostly I just wanted to curl up in a ball on the floor the second he walked in the door. That not being possible, after dinner, when he took the girls outside to play, I cranked up my Missy Higgins* Pandora station and plowed through the dishes. Seriously, you know you’re a stay at home mom when doing the dishes ALONE is somehow a TREAT.

So. That list is a bit sad, no? Someday I’ll get to unwind for real. Hopefully sooner than 18 years from now.

Your turn, folks. How do you unwind? What should I be doing that I’m not?

* If I’m being honest, Missy Higgins deserves her own bullet point. Both of her albums are beautiful. The first one, in particular, is one of those albums that pulled me out of a really dark time. I can’t recommend her enough. Go listen to some of her songs. I’ll get annoying about this, if I have to.

9 Comments

Filed under Girl Talk Thursdays

9 responses to “Girl Talk Thursday – How do you unwind?

  1. Ian

    It’s great that you’re reading again. What are you reading? You should consider something more serious. Oh, I don’t know–history or somesuch.

    Just sayin’.

  2. Danielle

    Puzzles. They are so mind numbing. I LOVE them.

  3. Definitely by reading! Writing too, for me. Even five minutes of writing in my journal without thinking too much about readability helps.

    I like your blog. 🙂

  4. Matt

    My list is eerily similar (hmm, maybe we’re somewhat compatible):

    1) Zoning Out Online – Duh, this is an easy one. For me this is usually sports or tech related.
    2) Music – I’m usually lamenting the fact that I don’t get to listen to music more. This was one of the worst parts about living 5 minutes from work. Now that it’s 15 minutes it’s slightly better. Maybe I’ll be able to listen to my iPod again at work *some* day.
    3) Massages. Yeah, read what Diane said. Back massages may be even better. Unfortunately, holding babies kind of gets in the way of that.
    4) TV/Movies – I’m only *mostly* in the inane category. I do like stuff I haven’t seen sometimes when I want to get away more than just laugh.
    5) *Warning, nerd alert* If I ever had time, I’d mess with my computer: upgrade it, make it more organized, more efficient. You know, the kind of stuff that I do at work that I don’t ever have time to do on my own computer.

  5. I ❤ reading! I haven't been paying too much attention to my book recently, have been crafting instead. (As you will soon-ish receive in the mail.)

  6. brian

    There are few betters way to unwind than to do some intense physical activity, getting all sweaty, and then collapsing into some sort of tub (with someone else, tub permitting). At that point, you can mix in other sorts of unwinding, like rubik’s cubing to music. Oh, and taco bell, mmmmm unwinding.

  7. i’ve recently gotten into the tv-zone out situation. it’s quite nice!

  8. that’s a great list!!!

  9. Doing the dishes alone with my music blasting sounds wonderful. Checking out Missy Higgins on Pandora right now! I love it!