Girl Talk Thursday – Shoes

Ah, shoes. Once upon a time, I really loved shoes. My mom and I would go shoe shopping all the time. I think I still love shoes, but I can’t ever seem to find what I’m looking for in the store. Also, the last 4 to 5 pairs of shoes I have purchased have been in a toddler size 6-8, so.

My number one priority when it comes to shoes is COMFORT. I don’t get dressed up much, which is probably a good thing, because my knowledge of how to walk in high heels ends at about the 4-year-old-playing-dress-up point. I’m not graceful in flats, so heels are mostly out of the question. (The only exception here is wedges. Wedges I can do!) This is unfortunate, because I’m only 5’4”, and I could probably use a nudge in the leg-lengthening department.

I now present to you some of my favorites from my embarrassingly small shoe collection.

THE VINTAGE:

Shoes5

I totally wouldn’t have thought to include these if Maria hadn’t mentioned a pair of similarly decked out shoes in her post. I wore these all through high school. Friends and I would draw on them during class, on the bus, after school. We didn’t have cell phones and iPods and all that newfangled gadgetry, so we had to make do with colorful pens and not much else. (Though Matt did have his TI-85 to write programs on. We were totally the cool kids.)

THE EVERYDAY:

Shoes6

I LOVE these shoes. I bought them during my second pregnancy and wore them constantly. With socks, without socks, doesn’t matter — So comfortable. I’m pretty sure no one wears these anymore, but I’ll be embarrassing my girls with them for YEARS to come.

THE DRESSUP (snort):

Shoes4

As I said before, I don’t go out much. But when I do, these are my go-to shoe. Are wedges even remotely in style? I seriously could not tell you. But these go with going-out-jeans or more casual type dresses, which is about as dolled up as I seem to be willing to get myself.

THE RUNNING WALKING:

Shoes1

Love these sneakers. They were great when I worked shelving books. Oh, shelving books. That’s the best job I’ve ever had. Would seriously do it every day for the rest of my life. That really doesn’t have anything to do with shoes, but it should tell you a LOT about me.

THE ONLY THING YOU’VE EVER SEEN ME WEAR, IF I’M BEING HONEST:

Shoes7

It’s HOT, okay? This is FLORIDA. Flip-flops are pretty much all anyone ever wears anywhere. Ever. Because otherwise your feet fall off and die the end. I got these at Target last summer for probably less than $10. I miss the flip-flops I used to be able to get at American Eagle. They were corduroy and I had them in a zillion colors. Actually, okay, I think I only had them in two colors. But they will always be in my heart.

I’m feeling a little misty-eyed, for some reason. Excuse me for a moment.

2 Comments

Filed under Girl Talk Thursdays

2 responses to “Girl Talk Thursday – Shoes

  1. You’re not alone in your lack of excessive shoes. I have five pairs of shoes: brown flip-flops, black flip-flops, brown heels, black heels, and one pair of sneakers that I bought to wear to the gym five years ago. (Those are still in really good shape — tells you how much time I spend doing the whole working out thing.) If I hadn’t had it pounded into my head (at some point in my youth so long ago that I can’t even recall) that you can’t wear black shoes with EVERY outfit, I would likely only have three pairs of shoes.

  2. I love the blue sneaks!