Everything is relative. Yes, it is.

Here’s the thing, internet. We’ve got to get something straight here, because you’re driving me crazy lately. I know a lot of that is my own pregnancy crankiness, but still, I promise you, IT NEEDS TO BE SAID.

Let me start by saying that if you were sick with say, a cold. A nasty cold, to be sure, but still, nothing life threatening. Say you wanted to tweet about how miserable you feel. Would it help if someone were to reply, “THAT is not a real illness! You need to stop complaining!”? No, because, well, ILLNESS IS RELATIVE. So people (generally, there are always some jerkfaces) don’t do that.

Now, how about you’re stuck in traffic in Smalltown, USA. Usually you don’t have any traffic, but today there were some ducks in the road and they lost their mama and a sweet lady stopped and things got out of hand and now you’re going to be 15 minutes late to your bridge lesson or the apple pie eating contest or whatever. Would it be helpful to hear from Atlanta or DC, the Craptastic Traffic Capitals of These Known United States, “That’s NOT real traffic! Call me when you have to deal with this every day!”? No, because, well, TRAFFIC IS RELATIVE. We deal with what we’re used to, and when something happens out of the ordinary, IT IS OKAY TO COMPLAIN ABOUT IT.

Well. It’s been cold in Florida the past few weeks. Not cold for, like, Wisconsin residents, but cold for MY FACE. I didn’t see snow until I was 26 years old. Seriously. We don’t have heavy coats, we don’t have gloves, and we don’t change out our wardrobes when the seasons change. Winter in Florida means throwing a hoodie over your summer wardrobe and swapping out jeans for shorts and skirts. Our air vents are in the ceiling, because we normally run COLD air conditioning, and seeing as how cool air falls, this makes sense. It does NOT make sense when we start running our heat and the heat blows halfway down and promptly begins to rise.

Anyway, it’s been getting into the low 40s and 30s overnight for a couple of weeks. That is cold. For here.

Yet, on Twitter, I have seen MULTIPLE comments to the effect of, “That’s not REAL winter!” or “This BARELY counts as snow! “*

I don’t care where you live, THERE IS SOMEONE, SOMEWHERE who would scoff at YOUR idea of WINTER. At YOUR idea of SNOW. I promise you!

When summer comes and, inevitably, there is a heat wave somewhere in the north that lasts for weeks where temperatures get up around 90 (the typical daily weather for a summer in Florida) I don’t hop on Twitter and start putting people down. Do you know why? Because WEATHER IS RELATIVE. They don’t have central air in the north, usually, because they don’t need it most of the time. So when it’s that hot, THERE IS NO RELIEF.

Probably, at this point, I am rambling. But, you guys, I propose this: Let’s stop trying to out-weather each other already. It is childish and ridiculous and serves NO PURPOSE other than to puff oneself up and feel superior to others.

It is absolutely, 100% MORE THAN OKAY to complain about something, even if you aren’t suffering the worst case of it that history has ever seen.

/cranky lady out.

*Disclaimer – This is meant in no way to shame the individual people who have made these comments; it’s an observation on the general attitude of the internet when it comes to weather.

24 Comments

Filed under Gestation, Not even kidding, Probably too serious

24 responses to “Everything is relative. Yes, it is.

  1. Aww, it’s ok cranky pregnant lady. (CONGRATULATIONS BY THE WAY!!)

    It sort of bugs me too.. but I am also guilty of doing it. Oops. *kisses*

    • Thank you! And I think there is totally a difference between maybe inwardly rolling your eyes at someone complaining about 30-degree weather and publicly deriding them for it, you know?

  2. Ian

    That sort of one-upmanship bugs the heck out of me, and I always suspect the very people saying “THAT’S not a cold winter/hot summer” are the very ones who would be braying loudest if they were the ones living in the climes in question.

    But man, Atlanta traffic is nothing NEAR as bad as Manhattan traffic.

  3. Cracking up and 100% AGREED! All our heat is floating up in our vaulted ceilings where it is supposed to be since these houses are built for hot days, not cold ones. Florida SUCKS at winter. We have no idea what we’re doing. And I’m cranky about it too but I can’t blame my cranks on any kind of pregnancy tho. Congrats again BTW!!!!

  4. Jeff

    My first year in North Dakota it was -49 (including wind chill it was -61), in Tampa it was 80 degrees that day, and so it was approximately 120 degrees warmer that day. I was asked when it gets that cold does it matter that it’s a dry cold versus a humid cold. Needless to say I didn’t really differentiate the difference when it took 20 minutes to start my car that day. I was able to drive on the road and make it to all of my classes and meetings.

    Contrast that with living in Atlanta when we had 5 inches of snow: the town shut down, there were no snow plows, and it took almost a week for the ice to melt without people skidding.

    I guess that is the long way of saying I agree with you, and that it’s all relative.

    • Okay, that weather sounds TERRIFYING, but yes! That’s exactly what I mean. Places where it is routinely that cold are equipped for it. What gets me is someone who lives where it typically doesn’t blizzard, FROM a place where it typically did, getting annoyed with the locals for lacking snowplows and the wherewithal to drive in (for them) hazardous conditions. It’s not worth investing money in the snowplows if they’re only going to be used once or twice every 10 years!

      Whew. Looks like I didn’t get out quite ALL my angst in the post. Thanks for stopping by, dude.

  5. Haha. Based on the conversation I got sucked into last night, I love this even more. I usually make disclaimers when I complain about cold. As in, for us, this is equivalent to your most miserable days in winter. We’re cold, our houses aren’t made for it, and we’re miserable. Well, except my dogs. They? Happy as clams with this weather development.

    • Hee. Glad to hear someone is enjoying it!

      • Well, they’re both black labs. They resemble reverse bears in that summertime you can barely rouse them to eat and they’ve turned peeing into a speed event. But now? They want to play outside and run around and have a splendid time while the humans are freezing.

  6. You think this is a rant? This isn’t a rant. I’LL show you a rant.

    (Note: I cannot back up this claim because I actually have no better rant on hand.)

  7. Nikki

    As someone routinely guilty of this, I blame it on getting old. Every time I find myself engaged in weather/traffic/whatever one-upsmanship, I firmly believe I’m well on my way to being one of those cantankerous old ladies who spends her days bitching about damn uppity youngsters and trying to prove my health problems are worse than your health problems by comparing how many pills we take each day.

    • My grandmother’s good friend was constantly one-upping her. “You got stronger glasses? Well *I* got declared legally blind!” On and on it would go. I guess my grandmother ultimately won, because she died first. Sort of hard to top that one, medically speaking.

  8. Pretty much all I need to say is Rock on Mama and I adore you!

  9. Afreakingmen! Sounds like my “one-downmanship” rant I did a few weeks ago. You (general you, obvs) don’t ALWAYS have to point out how much worse off you are than everyone else. GAH.

  10. i one hundred percent agree. when i was like 28 weeks pregnant our air went out and it got up to about 92? something like that and absurd for may in indiana and no air conditioning and i was DYING. so miserable i couldn’t sleep at all. and people totally tried to out-weather me. and it absolutely pissed me off. bundle up mama.

  11. oh and i really can’t stand the whole “my life is harder” game in any setting. it’s all life.

  12. I would actually be ok with a lot less complaining in general. My least favorite updates are the umpteenth update on the state of someone’s runny nose. If you have nothing interesting to say, and all you can think about it your sore throat/runny nose/whatever, maybe just stay away from Twitter/Facebook for awhile.

    Occasional updates? Fine. But I could really stand fewer opuses on the the statuses of my friend’s sinuses.

  13. ughhhh! i hear that always from my minnesota family and i used to live up there! but now california’s got me spoiled. they are just jealous!